Industry insights
Dog grooming software in Australia: Trimsy, MoeGo, Gingr and DaySmart compared
Four grooming platforms, their real published prices, and an honest answer to which suits an Australian grooming business — including the five places where the others beat us.
Most "best grooming software" lists are affiliate pages. This one is written by one of the four, which you should weigh accordingly — so every figure below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, with the date we read it, and the parts where the others win are in here too.
Prices checked 9 October 2026. Software pricing moves. If you are reading this much later, follow the links before deciding anything.
The short version
| Trimsy | MoeGo | Gingr | DaySmart | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| From | A$24.99 | US$49 | US$100 | US$29 |
| Currency | AUD + GST | USD | USD | Not stated |
| Staff included | 1 | 1 | Not stated | 1 |
| SMS included | 50/mo | 200/mo per van | Add-on, US/CA | Not stated |
| Locations | 1 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Boarding | No | Yes | Yes | Add-on |
| Van routing | No | Yes | No | No |
| Walk-in queue | Yes (Growth) | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Cheaper with their payments | No | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
Row labels are kept short so the table stays readable on a phone; scroll it sideways for the full grid. Every figure is explained below.
Where each one actually fits
MoeGo — the one to pick if you run vans
MoeGo publishes US$49/month for Basic, US$99 for Growth and US$159 for Ultimate, with Enterprise on quote. The detail that matters: Growth and Ultimate are priced per van. Two vans on Growth is US$198/month before you convert to AUD.
Basic is capped at one team member. SMS is allowanced per van — 200 on Basic, 900 on Growth and Ultimate.
What MoeGo has that nobody else here does is real mobile logistics: multi-van scheduling, route optimisation, and what they call Smart Schedule. If you are a mobile groomer with more than one van, that is a genuine operational advantage, and the per-van pricing is at least honest about what you are buying.
If you run vans, MoeGo is probably the right answer, and we are not going to pretend otherwise.
Gingr — the one to pick if you board overnight
Gingr prices by what the facility does rather than how big it is: Spa US$100/month for appointment-based grooming and training, Play US$142 for daycare, Stay US$154 for boarding.
Two things to read carefully.
First, the Stay price assumes you use their payments. Their own footnote puts it at US$209/month, or US$179 annual, without Integrated Payments active. That is a meaningful monthly difference for choosing your own processor.
Second, and this one matters more if you are Australian: 2-Way SMS is a paid add-on, and their page says it is available in the U.S. and Canada. For an Australian groomer, two-way texting with clients — the thing most of us use constantly — is not on the table as described.
Gingr's kennel tooling is genuinely deep: occupancy grids, auto-assignment, feeding and medication schedules. If dogs stay overnight, that is real software for a real job, and Trimsy does not do it at all.
DaySmart Pet — the long-established one
Five tiers, published from US$29 to US$199+, with the top one by quote. Their pricing page does not state a currency. Like Gingr, each tier is cheaper if you process payments through them. A website builder is a US$15/month add-on; daycare and boarding calendars are US$25/month each.
We verified DaySmart on 18 September 2026, three weeks before the others here, so treat those numbers as the oldest on this page.
Trimsy — the one to pick if you are an Australian shop
A$24.99/month Essential — one staff member, one location, 50 SMS included. A$49.99/month Growth — three staff, walk-in queue with tablet check-in, digital agreements, branch-level settings and reporting, 100 SMS. Billed in Australian dollars with a GST invoice. Fourteen-day trial, no card.
Three things that are structurally different rather than just cheaper:
The price does not change based on who processes your cards. Connect your own Stripe or Square and pay their published rate. Gingr and DaySmart both charge more if you decline theirs. We have nothing to gain from your choice.
0% commission, on every plan. No per-booking cut, ever. Card payments carry Stripe's or Square's own processing rate and Trimsy adds nothing to it.
A walk-in queue with tablet check-in, which none of the three mentions on the pages we read — useful when somebody turns up with a muddy dog and no appointment.
And the arithmetic is hard to ignore. Growth is A$49.99 for three groomers. Gingr's grooming plan starts at US$100 and MoeGo's multi-person tier is US$99 per van, both before conversion.
Where Trimsy loses
Five reasons to pick someone else. Worth being direct about them:
No overnight boarding. Trimsy books appointments. No kennel grid, no multi-night reservations, no feeding or medication schedules. If dogs sleep at your place, Gingr or DaySmart do a job Trimsy simply does not do.
No route optimisation or multi-van scheduling. A mobile operator with two or more vans should look hard at MoeGo.
No payroll. Commission reports, yes. Payroll runs, overtime rules and sliding-scale commission, no — DaySmart goes deeper there.
One location. Both plans are single-site today. A second shopfront is a conversation, not a checkbox.
A smaller SMS allowance. 50 a month on Essential against MoeGo's 200 on Basic. Per dollar it is closer than it looks, but the raw number is lower, and heavy texters will buy extra credits.
What we could not verify
Being explicit, because absence of evidence is not evidence of absence:
- None of the three vendors' pricing pages mentioned a walk-in queue or kiosk check-in. That does not mean they lack it — only that it is not on the pages we read.
- MoeGo does not state whether the price changes if you use an outside payment processor.
- Gingr does not price by staff headcount, so a per-seat comparison is not possible from their published page.
- Currency and included SMS are not stated on DaySmart's pricing page.
If any of this is wrong, tell us and we will correct it with the date of the correction.
How to actually decide
Skip the feature grid and answer three questions.
Do dogs sleep there? If yes, this is Gingr or DaySmart, and the rest of the comparison is secondary.
Do you drive to the dog? More than one van points at MoeGo. One van, and the routing advantage mostly disappears.
Is it a single shop, in Australia, with a handful of groomers? Then AUD pricing, GST invoices and a flat fee with no commission are what you will feel every month, and that is where Trimsy is built to win.
Figures from each vendor's public pricing page, read 9 October 2026 — MoeGo, Gingr, DaySmart Pet (DaySmart checked 18 September 2026). Trimsy's own figures are the live ones behind our pricing page. Nobody named here has paid us, and we would rather lose a sale than win it on a number we made up.